Action Learning Centres is an approved AQA Unit Award Scheme Centre.

What is the Unit Award Scheme (UAS)?

The Unit Award Scheme (UAS) is a 'can do' accreditation scheme for recognising learning and success. It rewards participants for personal progress and achievements which are often not recognised by more formal qualifications. The UAS

  • is completely flexible in terms of what, when and how learning can be accredited,
  • can help students with progression to further study, training, employment and independent living,
  • can be used to motivate, encourage, engage, support and raise self esteem,
  • rewards achievement that otherwise might go unrecognised.

Used with students of all ages and abilities, the scheme covers virtually all subject areas and activities from Pre-entry to Level 3.

As an on-demand scheme, students complete units and receive certificates throughout the year.


Which Unit Award Scheme subjects do Action Learning cover?

  • Agriculture & Horticulture
  • Citizenship
  • Construction & the Built Environment
  • Craft Skills
  • Environmental Studies
  • Health & Safety
  • Home Maintenance
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Key Skills
  • Outdoor Education
  • Team Building & Leadership
  • Team Building in the Outdoors
  • Thinking Skills
  • Work Related Learning


If you would like further information on any of the above subjects or the AQA Unit Award Scheme please click here